Enova Tech Talk in UC

On Thursday October 10 I was giving a talk at the University of Chicago.

It was very exciting since I realized that this was the first time I was talking to the students in the US. All the other times I was teaching, my audience were “adults”, so I’ve realized I really missed talking to young people. May be that was the reason why I’ve gathered a crowd at ADBIS 2013 in Genoa!

In any case, for those of you who never been to the University of Chicago – it’s a really beautiful campus, but it takes a while to get there from Chicago Downtown, so the name is misleading 🙂

I have been there twice before, but really long time ago, and I didn’t remember much about what is where and how to get from one place to another. Besides, the campus is so big, that you might know one part of it, and do not know other parts.

A couple of pictures from the campus:



We (myself and Preeti) found the Ryerson Building, which was a place for thie talk relatively easy (asking for directions not more that three people:)). When we arrived, we were greeted by Borja Sotomayor, the Associate Director for Masters Program in Computer Science. The first thing he mentioned, that he visited Saint Petersburg last Summer for ACM ICPS World Finals. Since I have lots of connections to this competition, it was really happy for me to hear from somebody, who is “in the loop”, and to hear all these nice words about Saint Petersburg, and the competition itself.

Then the students started to show up. As we realized later, there was way more Masters program, than we expected. I only had one hour for everything, and by everything I mean introducing the company, introducing the subject and explaining what is our contribution, and also – whatever time will be left for questions. To fit this all in one hour was not an easy task, especially since I had no clue of how many of the students knew anything about databases, let along – the Object-Relational Impedance Mismatch. So I started from my PG Open talk and decided to leave on place all the theory, and even talk more about it, and to cut more complex examples of the Logic Split application. I made sure I can fit into 45 minutes, which was a great idea, since we started a little bit later, then I had to talk about the company for 3 minutes, and so on.

Below are a couple of pictures of me making this presentation, from which you can see that I was very animated, and enjoyed this talk a lot!

Here you can find the slides from my presentation. Unfortunately, there was no recording,but feel free to ask questions about this presentation – it was a good one!

Leave a comment

October 12, 2013 · 10:01 pm

Leave a Reply

