ICDE 2016 – Bruce Momjian keynote

Getting back to telling all the conference stories. The first keynote on Thursday was “Postgres Battles NoSQL Hype and Future Challenges” by Bruce Momjian. I am sure many of my friends attended one of the previous Bruce’s presentation of this talk. However, this particular presentation was very important for me.

ICDE2016_Thursday_AlinaSukhomlina-9

Here is why. Postgres is becoming increasingly popular in different industries. I remember that when I made my big decision to switch from Oracle to Postgres five years ago, I was very scared to get behind in Oracle was thinking about taking certification courses in between, and most importantly – could not even imagine this change will be semi-permanent. I thought of it as a short stop in my long-term relationships with Oracle. I remember at that time when people were hiring nobody even expected the candidates to have any Postgres experience.

Now – how much did it change in the past five years! Nevertheless, I could not agree more with what Boris was saying when he opened the Thursday morning session: the database research world and the Postgres world are still two different galaxies. I am not going to retell the whole story here, but let me say this: I am very happy and very proud that my efforts in “making this happened” resulted in Bruce presenting at the ICDE!

I think this keynote was very well received, and I sincerely hope that we are entering a new era in relationships of Postgres with the rest of the world :).

I’ve mentioned multiple times in this blog and on many other occasions: I believe that Postgres optimizer is the best optimizer at this time. And that the fact which we all hate about it – the absence of optimizer hints – actually serves it well. Bruce is always saying that I am asking him the most difficult questions, but this time around I had nothing to report! And not because I am not doing any programming :), but because I didn’t run into any optimizer failures recently. And to Bruce’s last slide – what the academic community can do – I would agree wholeheartedly,   that we can join the efforts to make Postgres optimizer even better!

And for those folks who still didn’t get a chance to listen to this presentation – here are the slides. Enjoy 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under events, People, talks

Leave a Reply

