How I learned to love tests: both using and writing ones – part 1

My fellow database developers, let’s be honest: we do not like writing tests. We are not application developers. We do not understand the test-driven development: at the end of the day, how we can figure out what should be the outcome of our functions and stored procedures, when we do not know what data they will be working with?!  When our managers tell us, we should generate the test data, we think its’ the most ridiculous thing in the world, because if we create some data, obviously the results of the testing will be favorable!

I understand, that not necessarily each and single database developer goes to that extreme, but… pretty close. And I will be the first to admit being guilty with the similar attitude. I only believed in testing on a “copy of the real data”, sort of A/B testing, which is important, but not the only thing to be tested.

Especially these days, when the data structure is not “almost always static”, when the changes the application DB are not a rare catastrophe, but a part of normal life of the application. At a minimum you want to have tests which show you that if you change”something” in the database structure, other “something” won’t break. We need those tests. But… it is so boring to write them! It slows our development process sooooo much! Especially, you know, when you have this big project to complete, and each and every half an hour matters!

At least that’s what I was thinking for the past two months working hard to bring our new Data Warehouse live. And promising to myself, I will write the tests… later :).

But my former co-worker, my forever-mentor, current consultant for my company – Chad – have written his test for “his”part  – which is a part of our system, which is responsible for “taking” to the third-party databases. So… on the night of massive changes on the said third-party database, which were not properly communicated in advance, when some parts of my processes started to fail… and when I fixed the data structures to match the new ones… the tests started to fail!

I was not happy :). Not happy at all. I was thinking – why?  Why I have to sit and fix these tests at 11-30 PM?! But guess what. It took me only 45 minutes to fix each and single test, which was touched by the change, and to validate the new data structures. And I was done before the midnight. And guess, how long it took other people to have their parts of the system updated and running with no issues? Almost the whole night, and almost the whole next day! You might laugh at the next statement, but here is it anyway: at that moment I felt very much protected by these tests.

And that’s what the tests are for, aren’t they?!

Leave a comment

Filed under Development and testing, Systems, Team and teamwork

Leave a Reply

