ICDE 2017 – Day 3

This will be again more a note to myself to write in more details about what I’ve learned at ICDE 2017.

I didn’t stay the whole Day 3, but I made sure to pay for the TSA pre-check and use the fact that the conference venue was so close to the airport.  The main events of Day 3 were:

  • The keynote by Pavel Pevzner about the “New revolution” in online education.  I can’t say I liked it, because I disagree with a lot of what was said, but I it was something which would make you think
  • The Industry 2 session, which was to be honest less interesting than Industry 1, although quite educational.  The last presentation made me think again that the way we use the FDW for populating our Data Mart is something not convetional, and probably should   be publicized more.

During the conference people were asking me what y company is doing, and I’ve realized that our data modeling and predictive analytics (which I do not know much about) were of the most interest. Also, I am always saying the “we do not have any big data”, but now, seen what other people consider being “big data” I am starting to think that may be we have :).

Overall I am very excited about what I’ve learned, about the people I’ve met, adn I want to reinvent my life again, and to do all those great things…. and to submit a paper to ICDE 2018, of cause :).

Leave a comment

Filed under events, People, research

Leave a Reply

