On importance of automation: I am migrating my data again

Moving my Data Warehouse to a separate cluster was a big and exhausting project. However, looks like it did not teach me anything – now, when I’ve started to build a staging environment, I’ve realized, that almost nothing was automated. By “automated” I mean, that you should be able to run a set of scripts on a clean database and all objects should be created.

I always had best intentions to build my data warehouse that way, but life would always get on my way in the form of urgent business requests, things, which should have being done yesterday combined with “I will clean it up tomorrow”. Now, when I am building “the same” environment for the third time in a row, I’ve decided, that I will spend extra time on cleaning up all the creation scripts and making them re-runnable, no matter how much time it will take.

Well, it takes tons of time! But now nobody by myself forces me to do things that way, and now I fully and genuinely  understand, how important is it! So it may take me another 2 weeks to finish building the staging environment, but at the end I will not only get an environment, but a process on place as well. Which will make me very proud, even if nobody but me will know 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Development and testing

Leave a Reply

