The joy of team work!

Last week I had to work a lot! I mean, A LOT! But work-wise that was one of the happiest weeks, and I wanted to share with everybody why it felt so happy.

Those of you who worked with me before know, that my favorite activity is working with  applications, because optimizing for applications is way more difficult and way more fun than optimizing reports. Yes, you can impress everybody, including yourself, reducing the report run time from one hour to one minute. But how much cooler is it to reduce the page load time from 30 sec to 0.1 sec?!  Especially when you have a power not only to write the best queries ever, but also to design the data model “the right way”.

When you do the application database work, the most critical part is to work in close contact with the  application developers. And depending on what kind of team you are lucky or unlucky to have, it may be the best or the worst part of your professional experience.

My IT team here in Braviant is one of the best I ever worked with, which was proved one more time last week. The most difficult part has always been connecting the db work and the app work, like: I’ve selected all this data for you, can you read it from the output I am providing? Or: we can give you all input parameters that way, can you process them? Our app developers have already made a huge step “in my direction” agreeing not to use ORM, but to read the output of the database function. Next step – we hit the  wall exactly where I expected. I’ve spent a half of Saturday writing my code, so that the app developers could start using in Monday morning… and now they are saying they can’t process correctly the embedded record sets! I’ve heard that many times before, and each time in a couple of hours I would hear: Hettie, there is no way! Let’s do it “the old way”, we know how… That time, however my team kept trying to find a solution, and watching these efforts made me to start thinking how I can change the output on my side. After several iterations going back and forward, we came up with a pretty neat way to return the records, which could be used right away, and even a better approach, which, however would require more work from me, and could not be done on the spot.

And you know – I totally understand, when people hate rewriting one piece of code multiple times, which makes me appreciate even more the willingness to rewrite later, when I will come up with the more automated solution from my side…

I have already written a lot in this post, and I am not sure whether it all make sense, but let me try to summarize.  I loved that everybody were willing to compromise, to make adjustments, that there were no “just because” statements, that the whole team was focused on the goal to build the application right from the very beginning, so that we won’t need to worry about performance six months down the road.

Hope it will continue that way.  Except of me working on Saturdays part 🙂

 

Leave a comment

Filed under People, Systems, Team and teamwork

Leave a Reply

