Why I like so much what I am doing

Many years ago, when I was about to graduate from the University, my not-then-husband asked me, what I wanted to do with my professional life: to write “smart” papers about how-everything-should-be, or to do something real? Because it was quite obvious, which answer he had expected at that time, I’ve answered: of cause, the latter one!

But speaking seriously, that was my goal through all my professional life. Yes, I do write the “smart” papers about how things should work, but all these discoveries are of little interest to me until I can make a practical usage out of them, and until I can prove, that what I think is right actually changes things for better.

I like to say, that “a database is a service”. There is nothing else in the world of information technology which is more remote from the end user, than the database internals. Our work manifests itself in a very not-so- straightforward way. And when the the absolutely theoretical approaches which I’ve developed, actually work the best possible way – there is nothing more exciting.

In the system which I am building right now, which is more than just an app, but the whole system, which includes interaction between different online services and the data warehouse(s) I am implementing all the ideas, which has been important for me for most of my professional career.

I am using the bitemporal model I talked so much about through the past two or three years, and it is fascinating to see that things I was hoping will work and have some value to the business, actually produce value!

I work with application developers to bypass the ORM, and to use the output of the database functions for the most efficient communication with the data storage. I did this many times before, but never before I’ve experienced that level of cooperativeness.

I am using the foreign data wrappers in a most extended manner, and literally eliminate the gap between the application databases and the data mart.

Everything I wanted to accomplish in different periods of my professional life – everything is coming together, and I can see that the results are coming out really … how I wanted them to be :). ¬†And I can’t allow it to be different.

Leave a comment

Filed under Data management

Leave a Reply

